Lombok

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Forgotten by tourists, the discreet little sister of Bali doesn't yet know the same development, but it would be reductive to consider it as a second "Bali". This island with its peculiarities and its own identity, it offers a new facet of Indonesia. With a Muslim majority, the local population (the Sasaks) remains attached to the animist rites. We go for its beautiful sandy beaches, mountains, lush nature, culture and small villages and authentic remote.

 

 

 

 

The South:

 

 

 

 

Kuta Lombok:

Here nothing to do with his Balinese counterpart, Kuta is a village of fisherman and peaceful farmers with its cabanas and straw huts in a relaxed atmosphere. Away from the mass tourism, you can enjoy a large stretch of white sand in a beautiful bay in the middle of a majestic nature. Going further you will discover a coast still wild: dream beaches, vast coves hemmed with white sand ... Side land, the few hamlets are lined with coconut trees or tobacco plantations.

Sekotong:

Quiet little town, life is peaceful. Few tourist infrastructures. We go for its beautiful bays and coves far from the bustle. Spectacular landscapes by their beauty and sentiment of isolation.

The North Center:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mount Rinjani:

Second largest volcano in Indonesia, it rises to 3,726 m. Its ascent requires a very good physical form; the most classic formula consists of a trek of three days. On the caldera there is a lake Segara Anak.

The foothills of Mount Rinjani:

Tetebatu

On the first slopes of Mount Rinjani at the gates of the National Park, a nice little village in the middle of rice fields and tobacco fields. This is the starting point of all treks to the south: beautiful treks to see vegetation, monkeys and waterfalls.

Senaru

At the North of the volcano, you can find the Sasak village.The "Sasaks" are Muslims who practice an Islam tinged with pantheism and Hinduism. This is the starting point for superb hikes to see waterfalls and large tropical trees.

Bayan:

One of the most beautiful villages on the island that has preserved its cultural heritage.

The East:

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mataram: The capital of Lombok and former royal capital Cakranegara.

Sengigi: First and only seaside resort of Lombok, there is entertainment and activities. Beautiful beaches surrounded by mountains. Nearby, villages, mosques with colorful domes, temples.

Mangsit: A long quiet beach with traditional rockers is the gateway to the activities of the North Zone.

Batu Bolong: Extension of Sengigi there are hotels, nightclubs, cafes, restaurants, bar along the coastal road.

Gili Islands:

The three Gili islands, off of Lombok, are a real postcard: white sand surrounded by crystal clear sea. There is calm and serenity: no scooter, no car, no dog. The trips are by bike, on foot or cimodos (small carriages pulled by ponies). Walk through the island, lazing on the beach, exploring the seabed with particular meeting with the turtles you expect.

 

 

 

 

Gili Trawangan: The most festive island but with casual atmosphere. It has many bars all along its coasts some are open until late at night.

 

 

 

 

Gili Meno : : the wildest and quietest where locals will always be happy to help you.

 

 

 

 

Gili Air : : True compromise a nice and lively village island.

Lombok

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Oubliée des touristes, la discrète petite sœur de Bali ne connait pas encore le même développement, mais il serait réducteur de la considérer comme une deuxième « Bali ». Cette île à ses particularités et sa propre identité, elle offre une nouvelle facette de l’Indonésie. A majorité musulmane, la population locale (les Sasaks) reste attachée aux rites animistes. On y va pour ses magnifiques plages de sables fin, ses montagnes, sa nature luxuriante, sa culture et ses petits villages authentiques et reculés.

 

 

 

 

Le Sud

 

 

 

 

Kuta Lombok

Ici rien à voir avec son homologue balinais, Kuta est un village de pécheurs et d’agriculteurs paisibles avec ses cabanons et paillottes à l’ambiance détendue. A l’écart du tourisme de masse, vous pourrez profiter d’une grande étendue de sable blanc dans une jolie baie au milieu d’une nature majestueuse. En allant plus loin vous découvrirez une côte demeurant encore sauvage : plages de rêve, vastes criques ourlées de sable blanc … Côté terre, les quelques hameaux sont bordés de cocotiers ou de plantations de tabac.

Sekotong

Petite ville tranquille, la vie est paisible. Peu d’infrastructures touristiques. On y va pour ses baies et ses criques magnifiques loin de l’agitation. Des paysages spectaculaires par leur beauté et sentiment d’isolement.

Le centre nord

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mont Rinjani

Deuxième plus grand volcan d’Indonésie, il culmine à 3 726 m. Son ascension nécessite une très bonne forme physique, la formule la plus classique consiste en un trek de trois jours. Sur la caldeira on y trouve un lac le Segara Anak.

Les contreforts du mont Rinjani :

Tetebatu

Sur les premières pentes du Mont Rinjani aux portes du parc national, petit village agréable au milieu des rizières et des champs de tabacs. C’est le point de départ de tous les treks au sud : de beaux treks permettant de voir végétations, singes et cascades.

Senaru

Au nord du volcan, on trouve le village Sasak. Les « Sasaks » sont des musulmans qui pratiquent un islam teinté de panthéisme et d’hindouisme. C’est le point de départ de superbes randonnées pour voir cascades et grands arbres tropicaux.

Bayan

L’un des plus beaux village de l’île qui a conservé son patrimoine culturel.

L’Est

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Mataram : Capital de Lombok et ancienne capitale royale Cakranegara,

Sengigi :  Première et seule station balnéaire de Lombok, on y trouve animations et activités. De belles plages entourées de montagnes. Aux alentours, villages, mosquées aux dômes colorés, temples.

Mangsit : Une longue plage tranquille avec des bateaux à balanciers traditionnels c’est la porte d’entrée des activités de la zone nord.

Batu Bolong :  Extension de Sengigi on y trouve hôtels, nightclubs, cafés, restaurants et bar le long de la route côtière.

Les îles Gilis

Les trois îles Gili, au large de Lombok, sont une véritable carte postale : sable blanc entouré d’une mer cristalline. On y trouve calme et sérénité : ni scooter, ni voiture, ni chien les déplacements se font à vélo, à pied ou à cimodos (des petites calèches tirées par des poneys). Promenade à travers l’île, farniente sur la plage, exploration des fonds marins avec notamment rencontre avec les tortues vous attentes.

 

 

 

 

Gili Trawangan : La plus festive, ambiance décontractée. Elle compte de nombreux bars tout au long de ses côtes certains sont ouverts jusqu’ à tard dans la nuit.

 

 

 

 

Gili Meno : La plus sauvage et tranquille où les locaux seront toujours heureux de vous aider.

 

 

 

 

Gili Air : Véritable compromis une île village agréable et animée.